Late Dash Makes Pierce A Winner

Posted: 26 June by Brett Hoover in Uncategorized


With a strong finish, Brown graduate Anna Pierce won the 1,500-meter run at the USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Drake Stadium in Des Moines, Iowa. One of the event favorites, Shalane Flanagan of the Oregon Track Club, fell in the back straightaway on the second lap, which may have led to a slow pace (4:13.65).

“I wanted to go [kick] with between 300 and 400 to go, but I was in a terrible position,” said Pierce. “But I ended up getting out and having a clear run from about 220 out. So the last 200 was great. I was worried I wasn’t going to catch her [Erin Donohue, the leader], but then the last 100, the crowd was really cheering and I really felt a good surge. So I was happy with it overall. Obviously it was slow. It was a hot day, so I wasn’t expecting too fast [of a time].”

Another former Heps champion, Harvard graduate Becky Christensen, took 10th in the high jump (5-8 3/4). More to come from Des Moines later.

Leave a Reply

