No. 4 — The Bay State

Posted: 28 December by Brett Hoover in Announcement
Tags: , , , , , ,

No. 5 | No. 6 | No. 7 | No. 8 | No. 9 | No. 10 | Nos. 11-51

Many a transplant to Boston knows that the city and state shut down on the third Monday of April and most assume it is part of the Boston Marathon festivities. Wouldn’t that be great. Pennsylvania should surely shut down during Penn Relays, but the real reason is that the Marathon falls on the state holiday of Patriots’ Day, commemorating the anniversary of the Battles of Lexington and Concord. At least in the mind of HepsTrack, never was the Marathon more worthy of commemoration than in 1971 when its champion was Ivy Leaguer Jon Anderson of Cornell.

Not just the Marathon and Patriots’ Day, Massachusetts is home to 87 Heps athletes and five Heps individual champions from 2010. The since departed Erik DePalo, a Yale pole vaulter, and Duane Teixeira, a Cornell long and triple jumper, won’t return to defend titles. But three others will. Columbia’s Jeff Moriarty (Westwood) won the outdoor 800 while Princeton’s Mark Amirault (Walpole) took the outdoor 5k. Dartmouth junior Priscilla Trojano (West Bridgewater) is the reigning multi-event champion, both indoor and out.

Getting to know Massachusetts a bit more:

Driving in Boston is never fun as the road system was designed by people wearing powder wigs and riding horses. But it was astonishingly less fun before the Big Dig, a $2.5-billion project that the Boston Globe concluded would have an actual cost of $22 billion and wouldn’t be fully paid until 2038. Massachusetts congressman Barney Frank once joked, “Wouldn’t it be cheaper to raise the city than depress the artery?” In 2006, Christy Mihos made a failed independent run for governor with ‘Big Dig’ accountability high on his list of issues. Check out his fantastic commercial.

The 87 Ivies from Massachusetts are listed after the jump.

Agawam (Suffield Academy) — Brielle Beaudette (Brown ’11)
Attleboro (Bishop Feehan) — William Clerx (Harvard ’14)
Attleboro (Bishop Feehan) — Jenn Thomas (Brown ’14)
Ayer (Bishop Guertin) — Catherine Ressijac (Harvard ’12)
Barnstable (Barnstable) — Jill Lyon (Dartmouth ’13)
Bedford (Bedford) — Jonathan Gault (Dartmouth ’13)
Beverly (Beverly) — Melissa Chapman (Yale ’14)
Beverly (Beverly) — Brendan Norris (Dartmouth ’12)
Boston (Mansfield) — Jessica Eason (Brown ’14)
Boston (Roxbury Latin) — John O’Loughlin (Columbia ’12)
Bradford (Pentucket Regional) — April O’Brien (Dartmouth ’13)
Brookline (Brookline) — Matthew Stewart (Columbia ’11)
Cambridge (Winsor) — Isabella Terhorst (Dartmouth ’14)
Carlisle (Concord-Carlisle) — Samantha Dweck (Brown ’13)
Chestnut Hill (Belmont Hill) — Steven Izen (Cornell ’13)
Danvers (St. John’s Prep) — Jared Kadich (Harvard ’14)
Duxbury (Duxbury) — Alexandra Nee (Dartmouth ’12)
East Walpole (Thayer Academy) — Brian Freitas (Cornell ’11)
Framingham (Framingham) — Camille Murphy (Columbia ’13)
Gloucester (Waring) — Natasha Smith (Brown ’11)
Harvard (Bromfield) — Elizabeth Lee (Columbia ’12)
Harvard (The Bromfield School) — Eliza Ives (Harvard ’11)
Hingham (Boston College) — Mike Murphy (Cornell ’13)
Hingham (Hingham) — Dana Lindberg (Yale ’14)
Holliston (Holliston) — Emmaline Berg (Dartmouth ’13)
Hudson (Hudson) — Conor Grogan (Brown ’13)
Lexington (Lexington) — Andrew Herring (Cornell ’14)
Lincoln (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Claire Arthur (Dartmouth ’14)
Lincoln (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Maggie Fleming (Dartmouth ’13)
Lincoln (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Ellie Hylton (Harvard ’13)
Manchester (Manchester-Essex) — Monica Adler (Dartmouth ’14)
Manchester (St. John’s Prep) — A.J. Rossi (Penn ’14)
Mansfield (Bishop Feehan) — Meghan Looney (Harvard ’12)
Mansfield (Mansfield) — Brendan Boyle (Brown ’14)
Mansfield (Mansfield) — Meghan Ferreira (Harvard ’13)
Marblehead (Marblehead) — Jacob Evanter (Dartmouth ’13)
Medfield (Xaverian Brothers) — Peter Dolan (Harvard ’14)
Medford (Medford) — Phil Galebach (Harvard ’13)
Needham (Catholic Memorial) — Paul Corcoran (Columbia ’11)
New Bedford (New Bedford) — Lauren Barber (Princeton ’11)
Newton (Newton North) — Carolyn Ranti (Brown ’13)
Newton (Newton North) — David Smith (Yale ’11)
Newton (Newton North) — Jason Sullivan (Yale ’11)
Newton (Newton South) — Melanie Fineman (Brown ’14)
Newton (Newton South) — Kelsey Karys (Cornell ’13)
North Attleboro (North Attleboro) — Nick Wade (Cornell ’13)
North Falmouth (Moses Brown) — Ari Garber (Brown ’13)
North Reading (North Reading) — Shannon Conway (Harvard ’12)
North Reading (North Reading) — Elizabeth Short (Dartmouth ’12)
Northampton (Northampton) — Robert Contuzzi (Dartmouth ’12)
Northampton (Northampton) — Natalia Paine (Harvard ’14)
Pembroke (Pembroke) — Berkeley Hall (Dartmouth ’14)
Plymouth (Andover Phillips Academy) — Ben Bramhall (Dartmouth ’11)
Roslindale (Boston Latin) — Meisha Brooks (Harvard ’14)
Rowley (Triton Regional) — Erin Loughlin (Cornell ’14)
Scituate (Scituate) — Chloe Hall (Cornell ’12)
Seekonk (Seekonk) — John Gregorek (Columbia ’14)
Shrewsbury (Shrewsbury) — Megan Krumpoch (Dartmouth ’14)
South Hamilton (Hamilton-Wenham) — Emily Lanois (Columbia ’13)
Stow (Andover Phillips Academy) — Jennifer Downing (Yale ’12)
Sudbury (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Alec Barnes (Penn ’14)
Sudbury (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Yosha Gargeya (Dartmouth ’11)
Sudbury (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Emily Mepham (Brown ’12)
Sudbury (Lincoln-Sudbury) — Jake Shoemaker (Dartmouth ’12)
Swampscott (Swampscott) — Lindsay Walsh (Dartmouth ’14)
Tewksbury (Tewksbury) — Kristen Judge (Penn ’12)
Topsfield (Masconomet Regional) — Abbey D’Agostino (Dartmouth ’14)
Walpole (Xaverian Brothers) — Mark Amirault (Princeton ’11)
Watertown (Watertown) — Timothy Moan (Harvard ’14)
Wellesley (Roxbury Latin) — Fernando Rodriguez-Villa (Dartmouth ’11)
Wellesley (Wellesley) — Hanna McPhee (Brown ’14)
Wellesley (Wellesley) — Daniel Ostrovsky (Dartmouth ’11)
Wellesley Hills (Noble & Greenough) — Jennifer Donnelly (Yale ’13)
West Bridgewater (Coyle & Cassidy) — Priscilla Trojano (Dartmouth ’12)
West Newbury (Central Catholic) — Haley O’Sullivan (Columbia ’11)
West Newton (Winsor) — Caroline Moriaty (Penn ’13)
Westborough (Westborough) — Jeff Bush (Brown ’14)
Westborough (Westborough) — Byron Jones (Columbia ’14)
Westford (Bishop Guertin) — Beth McKenna (Princeton ’14)
Westford (Westford Academy) — Ailish Hanly (Cornell ’13)
Westford (Westford Academy) — Cassandra Ryding (Dartmouth ’13)
Weston (Noble & Greenough) — Caitie Meyer (Dartmouth ’14)
Weston (Weston) — Jonathan Dieujuste (Brown ’14)
Westwood (Westwood) — Jeff Moriarty (Columbia ’11)
Westwood (Xaverian Brothers) — John Bleday (Dartmouth ’14)
Wilmington (Wilmington) — Nick Farnsworth (Harvard ’12)
Worcester (South Community) — Danielle Pingue (Princeton ’14)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s