Posts Tagged ‘Duane Teixeira’

No. 5 | No. 6 | No. 7 | No. 8 | No. 9 | No. 10 | Nos. 11-51

Many a transplant to Boston knows that the city and state shut down on the third Monday of April and most assume it is part of the Boston Marathon festivities. Wouldn’t that be great. Pennsylvania should surely shut down during Penn Relays, but the real reason is that the Marathon falls on the state holiday of Patriots’ Day, commemorating the anniversary of the Battles of Lexington and Concord. At least in the mind of HepsTrack, never was the Marathon more worthy of commemoration than in 1971 when its champion was Ivy Leaguer Jon Anderson of Cornell.

Not just the Marathon and Patriots’ Day, Massachusetts is home to 87 Heps athletes and five Heps individual champions from 2010. The since departed Erik DePalo, a Yale pole vaulter, and Duane Teixeira, a Cornell long and triple jumper, won’t return to defend titles. But three others will. Columbia’s Jeff Moriarty (Westwood) won the outdoor 800 while Princeton’s Mark Amirault (Walpole) took the outdoor 5k. Dartmouth junior Priscilla Trojano (West Bridgewater) is the reigning multi-event champion, both indoor and out.

Getting to know Massachusetts a bit more:

Driving in Boston is never fun as the road system was designed by people wearing powder wigs and riding horses. But it was astonishingly less fun before the Big Dig, a $2.5-billion project that the Boston Globe concluded would have an actual cost of $22 billion and wouldn’t be fully paid until 2038. Massachusetts congressman Barney Frank once joked, “Wouldn’t it be cheaper to raise the city than depress the artery?” In 2006, Christy Mihos made a failed independent run for governor with ‘Big Dig’ accountability high on his list of issues. Check out his fantastic commercial.

The 87 Ivies from Massachusetts are listed after the jump.


And Now… The Men

Posted: 29 July by Brett Hoover in Announcement, Athletes, Brown, Cornell
Tags: ,

Yesterday the U.S. College Track Coaches (USTFCCCA) named 27 Ivy women to its All-Academic team. Today that group added 26 Ivy men to the list, led by NCAA Champion javelin thrower Craig Kinsley of Brown and former Heps Athlete of the Meet Duane Teixeira, a horizontal jumper from Cornell.

Here’s the group:

Mark Amirault, Princeton
Peter Callahan, Princeton
Bob Belden, Cornell
Matthew Bogdan, Yale
Adrien Dannemiller, Cornell
Eric DePalo, Yale
Mike Eddy, Princeton
Chas Gillespie, Harvard
Duriel Hardy, Brown
William Harris, Yale
Brian Hill, Harvard
Nick Huber, Cornell
David Irving, Dartmouth
Brett Kelly, Cornell
Craig Kinsley, Brown
Chris Labosky, Yale
Ted Lesher, Dartmouth
Michael Levine, Yale
Alex Lippai, Dartmouth
Jordan Maddocks, Brown
Phil Royer, Dartmouth
Duane Teixeira, Cornell
Trevor Van Ackeren, Princeton
Elliot Welder, Princeton
Chris Zablocki, Dartmouth
Richard Zamora, Cornell

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either the NCAA Division I Indoor automatic or provisional qualifying standard or participated in the NCAA Division I Outdoor Championships (including preliminary rounds) in their respective event.